Ten Favourite Books

Recently on Facebook, people have been listing their ten favourite books and tagging others to do the same. I have no idea who started the whole project, but I’m assuming it was a writer who was procrastinating.

I was tagged a couple of days ago and listed mine. I didn’t want to spend too long thinking about it because that’s the sort of thing that could end up in insomnia and paralysing indecision, so I listed the first five books that came immediately to mind and then quickly scanned my bookshelves to fill in the rest. I also listed them in no particular order because if I tried to rank them against each other my brain would explode.  

  • Spider – Patrick McGrath
  • Bonfire of the Vanities – Tom Wolfe
  • Girlfriend in a Coma – Douglas Coupland
  • Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – Hunter S. Thompson
  • The Book of Illusions – Paul Auster
  • The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  • If This Is A Man – Primo Levi
  • Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
  • Blonde – Joyce Carol Oates

As a result of this exercise, I’ve decided to re-read these ten books and review them on the Multiverse in the next ten weeks. I’ve started with Spider by Patrick McGrath, a book that I first read in 1998. (How can I be so specific? I sign and date all of my books when I buy them because I am a huge nerd).

Anyway, now you guys know what’s in store for Mondays over the next while. I hope you end up reading one or some or all of the ten; I think they’re all exceptional in their own way.

8 thoughts on “Ten Favourite Books

  1. Pingback: Spider – Patrick McGrath | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  2. Pingback: Girlfriend in a Coma – Douglas Coupland | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  3. Pingback: Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  4. Pingback: The Secret History – Donna Tartt | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  5. Pingback: The Bonfire of the Vanities – Tom Wolfe | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  6. Pingback: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – Hunter S. Thompson | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  7. Pingback: If This Is A Man/The Truce – Primo Levi | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  8. Pingback: Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell | Alex Donald's Multiverse

Leave a Reply

