Banquet – Bloc Party

Obviously when I’m DJing there are certain songs that people want to hear and so I play them at almost every gig, e.g. at a rock gig you have to play The Killers, Arctic Monkeys, Vampire Weekend, etc. Consequently playing them week after week at gigs has ruined tunes that I used to love, so much so that I’d be happy if I never heard them again! (I won’t name them here as it’s not fair; I did love them once!)

I know this tune from Bloc Party is old. Way old. It’s taken from their award winning album Silent Alarm which was released in 2005. But it’s one tune I never get sick of, no matter how many times I play it. The main reason I adore this song is Matt Tong’s drumming. His playing is tight, he sits right in the groove and drives the song beautifully, and it reminds me a little of Stewart Copeland’s drumming with The Police.

Anyway, I’m sure you know “Banquet” but have a listen and appreciate a classic!

Leave a Reply

