Style Inspirations – Esther Quek

I’ve never been the world’s girliest dresser. In my 20s I used to feel like an imposter whenever I wore a dress. Nowadays my wardrobe certainly includes more dresses but I never feel quite as comfortable as when I’m in trousers, heels and a good jacket. Tomboyish style is definitely my go to.

So of course I fell hard the first time I saw Esther Quek pictured on a blog at Fashion Week a couple of years ago. Singaporean born and now Dubai based, Quek is a stylist and the Group Fashion Director of men’s magazines The Rake and Revolution. She can be seen popping up at men’s fashion weeks in Milan, Paris and London, and is a favourite of the street-style photographer pack.

Esther’s personal style is menswear influenced with beautifully cut suits, pocket squares and lace-up flat shoes as staples in her wardrobe. She adds a feminine slant with bright colours, bold prints, the odd pair of stilettos and amazing jewellery. She mixes high end designers and bespoke tailoring with high street finds from Zara and H&M. Her eye for colour combinations is awe inspiring (for example the neutral check suit with neon shirt, blue bowtie and blue overcoat pictured below) and her impeccable grooming (slicked hair, minimal make-up) compliments her overall aesthetic perfectly.

Quek is the epitome of menswear inspired cool and she can rock a suit like no other woman I’ve ever seen. Check her out…

LEEOLIVEIRA-EstherQuek
Photo by Lee Oliveira
Photo by Stockholm Street Style
Photo by Stockholm Street Style
Photo by Citizen Couture
Photo by Citizen Couture
Photo by Tommy Ton
Photo by Tommy Ton
Photo by Lee Oliveira
Photo by Lee Oliveira
Photo by Tommy Ton
Photo by Tommy Ton
Photo by Tommy Ton
Photo by Tommy Ton
Leave a Reply

