DJ Stories – Part Three

(Third in a sporadic series of Tales from Behind the Decks. Here are parts one and two.)

I was DJing at a party a while ago when a woman came up and asked me to play Azealia Banks’ ‘212’. Of course I obliged as it’s a killer track and we chatted about how danceable it was. She then told me how she had thought that the lyrics were ‘I guess that lunch getting eaten’ and was corrected by her twelve year old daughter who laughed at her mother’s innocence. The horror! (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check the lyrics out.)

It got me thinking about misheard lyrics. Of course there are lots of sites on the web devoted to them like Kiss This Guy, which is a reference to Jimi Hendrix’s song ‘Purple Haze’ where he actually sings ‘scuse me while I kiss the sky’. Have a look at their all time funniest list which contains some gems. A famous one in this country is ‘Islands In The Stream’ which an entire generation of Irish people thought was a rallying union song called ‘Ireland’s Industry.

I’ve had some clangers in my time, and I reckon if anyone watched me when I was DJing they’d be sure to find out that I’m singing wrong lyrics to lots of songs. I honestly thought that in 50 Cent’s ‘In Da Club’ he was singing ‘Go Charlotte, it’s your birthday’ until a friend pointed out that it’s fairly unlikely that Fiddy would have a mate called Charlotte and he’s actually singing ‘Go Shortie…’ As a child I thought that Joe Cocker and Jennifer Warnes were singing ‘the lift goes up where we belong’ which makes a lot more sense to a six year old. I was also convinced that the last lines of the chorus of ‘Brown Girl In The Ring’ were ‘she looks like a woman and she wears a bra’.

So what about you? Any major mistakes in your singalongs? Let me know in the comments. And for a laugh have a look at Peter Kay’s take on the situation – ‘just let me staple the vicar’!

6 thoughts on “DJ Stories – Part Three

  1. Shona

    In the movie “I give it a year” singing along to Sweet Dreams by the Eurythmics “I travelled the world in generic jeans”….

  2. Pingback: Happy Holidays! | Alex Donald's Multiverse

Leave a Reply

