Deap Vally

Deap Vally
Deap Vally

I had two of my dearest friends over for dinner on Saturday night and as we all make our living from music (two DJs and one guitarist/writer) talk turned to recent musical discoveries. They clued me in to Deap Vally, a band I hadn’t heard of and who I think are going to be my new obsession.

Deap Vally is a female duo formed in LA in 2011 consisting of Lindsey Troy (guitar, vocals) and Julie Edwards (drums). Their first single, Gonna Make My Own Money, was released on Ark Recordings on July 30th this year and since then the girls have garnered industry buzz and signed a deal with Island Records to release their debut album early next year.

Firstly these girls can ROCK – I can hear influences of Jack White, The Distillers and Janis Joplin. Secondly they look awesome! Thirdly their live shows are reportedly phenomenal. One to watch for 2013.

Leave a Reply

