Hit me with your favourites…

The last three weeks have been filled with painting and my back is about ready to snap! I’m nearing the end however, and I’m dreaming about the first evening in my house where there’s nothing to do – no sanding or Polyfilla or painting or priming – and I can sit back and watch a movie.

Last year I asked for recommendations from Multiverse readers and ended up with a stack of brilliant movies I had never seen. So I’m asking again, what would you recommend I watch? Apart from obvious films that I would have seen already, what are your favourite top three movies that are slightly obscure? To get the ball rolling here are my three:

1. The Legend of 1900 – Giuseppe Tornatore’s 1998 film, starring one of my favourite actors Tim Roth, which tells the story of Danny Boodman T. D. Lemon 1900 or 1900 for short. 1900 was found as an abandoned baby on a ship by a coal-man who raises 1900 as his own. 1900 soon shows an incredible aptitude on the piano and joins the ship’s orchestra where his reputation as one of the greatest jazz pianists in the world soon grows. Amazing performances in this film and some truly magical scenes.

2. Dazed and Confused – The action in this film takes place in a single day; the last day of high school in 1976 in Austin, Texas. The ensemble cast includes Matthew McConnaughey, Parker Posey, Milla Jovovich and Ben Affleck, and the 70s rock soundtrack is brilliant!

3. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead – Another Tim Roth movie, this time co-starring Gary Oldman when both were at the beginning of their careers. The movie is based on Tom Stoppard’s absurdist play about two minor characters from Hamlet who are constantly just outside of the main action. The script is hysterically funny and brought to life perfectly by the performances of Oldman and Roth.

So what about yours? Hit me up with some recommendations in the comments and I’ll be so very grateful!

2 thoughts on “Hit me with your favourites…

  1. Hey alex,

    one of my favourite films is a documentary called “Message to Love” – it’s about the Isle of Wight festival in 1970 (which turned out to be Hendrix’s last gig)

    aside from the man himself, the line-up included The Doors, The Who, Leonard Cohen, Joni Mitchell, Miles Davis, Ten Years After, The Moody Blues, Free and loads of others.

    I especially like it cos there was a lot of agro between the crowd and the promoters, and the music seems to accompany the tension very well (especially The Doors “The End”) plus it led to some excellent moments like Kris Kristofferson (who I love) getting booed offstage, and Joni Mitchell (who I love even more) trying not to cry as she performed.

    It’s very watchable, the hippies are funny, and the music is beyond compare, i recommend it highly

    (if you can get a copy of it, i recorded it off the telly ages ago)

    1. Hi Marie. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve never seen Message to Love although being a Hendrix fan I do know about his amazing last performance at the festival. This sounds like a brilliant documentary and is definitely going on my must watch list! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

