Haider Ackermann SS 2012

Seeing Tilda Swinton wearing Haider Ackermann last weekend made me want to revisit his SS 2012 collection. I was a little underwhelmed when it first showed as his AW 2011 collection was so incredible that it raised my expectations almost unreasonably high for SS 2012. However looking at it again I am a bit more enthusiastic. The collection had a louche slouchy quality, emphasised by the flat shoes worn by the models throughout, and featured heavy doses of black punctuated with metallics and vivid greens and blues. I love the menswear inspired tailoring, the genius use of colour and Ackermann’s obsession with trousers. A man after my own heart!

Largerfeld has tipped Ackermann as his successor at Chanel and Ackermann was one of the first names bandied about to succeed Galliano at Dior. He certainly has a bright future ahead of him regardless of whether he continues to pursue his own goals or work under the umbrella of a more established house.

As one of my very favourite designers, I dream of owning some Ackermann pieces at some stage in my life!

(Photos by Filippo Fior/GoRunway.com)

Leave a Reply

