Scary Movies

Someone needs a manicure (Image © Warner Bros.)

Unlike most of my movie related posts this one will not have a trailer attached to it. The reason for this is because I am the world’s biggest wuss when it comes to horror films. Thrillers I can take and I love crime shows like Criminal Minds. I can easily sit through wanton gangster violence such as Reservoir Dogs or Goodfellas. But as soon as things get supernatural, as soon as creepy children and out of tune music boxes come into play, as soon as a car breaks down in the middle of the night in the Outback, I’m outta there.

It started with a slumber party when I was aged eleven. I was in a friend’s house and someone put on Nightmare on Elm Street. Three hours later all of the other kids were fast asleep while I lay wide awake on high alert, every muscle tensed, listening for the sound of Freddy’s blade-nails scraping across the window. Then there was the time that I went to see The Exorcist and I spent half the film cowering behind my step-father’s shoulder listening to Regan’s terrifying pronouncements. For a month afterwards I had to sleep with the light on. I was aged twenty-two.

I pretty much avoided horror films after that until one night about six years ago when I was staying with my friend Ruth. She thought it would be a fantastic idea for us to watch Saw. I acquiesced thinking that perhaps I’d grown up, hardened up a little. I was wrong. Again I spent all night awake with the light on and seriously contemplated crawling into Ruth’s room and asking her to hold my hand until the sun came up.

I have admitted my defeat in the face of horror movies. As a grown woman I now know my limitations and I manage my viewing habits accordingly. If I see even a trailer for something that might freak me out (recent examples include Paranormal Activity and The Human Centipede) I look it up on Wikipedia and read through the whole plot. That way I get to know the outcome without having to watch the movie and my imagination doesn’t run rampant at four o’clock in the morning. I’d like to think I’m a courageous person but clearly I’m deluded.

What about you? Horror movie fan or foe? And if you are a fan, then why? I’d love to hear the other side of the story.

8 thoughts on “Scary Movies

  1. Complete and utter horror pho-bic!! 🙂 I walked out of the cinema not long after the opening credits of SAW! I love thrillers and gangster movies, Goodfellas is one of my all time favourites but when it comes to Freddy, Chucky and Co I just can’t watch…I still haven’t seen The Exorcist and after reading your reaction I think it’s one experience I’m willing to go without! 😉

    Congrats on the nomination, I just voted…My fingers and toes are crossed! Well deserved

    1. If you’re anything like me Emma then absolutely positively NEVER watch the Exorcist. It’ll give you nightmares for weeks!

      Thanks for the vote! Fingers crossed. Would be awesome to win it.

  2. Hi there, just discovered your blog, it’s really good 🙂
    I am EXACTLY the same re horror films – I get the story on Wiki so I never, never, NEVER have to watch it. There’s an ad for a bank or insurance or something at the moment that has a kid who looks like the one from the Ring!!!! AAAAGH. Avoid at all costs. Well done on your nom, will give you a vote!

  3. Pingback: Practice Batgirl « Alex Donald's Multiverse

  4. Pingback: Celebrating The Multiverse’s 1000th post! | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  5. Pingback: Conspiracy | Alex Donald's Multiverse

  6. Pingback: Get Out – Alex Donald's Multiverse

Leave a Reply

