In Bruges

I don’t know if your mates are the same but amongst mine there are a series of movies which get quoted back and forth with great regularity. Sometimes it might be Zoolander which can set off an epic quotefest as evidenced in this Flickr comment stream, or this quote from Event Horizon which has proved useful on many occasions especially when confronted with bad parties. Of course, because many of us are musicians, Spinal Tap is a source of hilarity as is Best in Show by the same ensemble.

I recently re-watched In Bruges and was struck by the amount of brilliant quotes in it. There’s something about the Irish sense of humour that cracks me up, in fact it’s one of the main reasons I came home from London after a couple of years: not enough craic. The writing in In Bruges is pure comedy gold, especially when channelled through the acting talents of Colin Farrell (playing Ray) and Brendan Gleeson (playing Ken). For your edification I have copied some of the best ones below. If you have never seen the film then rent it immediately. If you’re not from Ireland let me know if the humour translates.

 

 

Ray: Ken, I grew up in Dublin. I love Dublin. If I grew up on a farm, and was retarded, Bruges might impress me but I didn’t, so it doesn’t.

Ray: What’s up there? 
Ken: 
The view. 
Ray: 
The view of what? The view of down here? I can see that down here.

 

Harry: An Uzi? I’m not from South Central Los fucking Angeles. I didn’t come here to shoot twenty black ten year olds in a drive-by. I want a normal gun for a normal person.

Ray: Stop whingeing like a big gay baby.

Ray: Maybe that’s what hell is, the entire rest of eternity spent in fucking Bruges.

4 thoughts on “In Bruges

  1. Pingback: Turning The Tables « Alex Donald's Multiverse

  2. Pingback: Seven Psychopaths « Alex Donald's Multiverse

Leave a Reply

