Plan Ireland “Because I am a Girl” – Alex Donald

Plan Ireland is an international children’s development charity working with millions of children and their families. Plan works in 48 developing countries across Africa, Asia and Latin America directly supporting more than 1,500,000 children and their families, and an estimated 9,000,000 others living in communities working with Plan.

They are currently running the Because I Am A Girl campaign which is a global movement to highlight the silent emergency of gender discrimination in the developing world which traps girls in a cycle of poverty and inequality. The Because I am a Girl campaign aims to highlight the lack of rights and equality that girls experience in the developing world. You can donate to the Because I Am A Girl campaign here.

Part of the campaign is a blog which takes the form of a questionnaire where women are invited to fill in a number of statements that start with Because I Am A Girl. I was very honoured when Plan Ireland asked me to be this week’s guest blogger – you can read my blog here.

Alex on Plan Ireland
Leave a Reply

