tUnE-YarDs – Bizness

I came across tUnE-YarDs amazing track Bizness ages ago, then got distracted and completely forgot about it until my friend Mark reminded me of it earlier this week. tUnE-YarDs (annoying random capitalisation that feels gimmicky and reminds me of SanDeE* from LA Story) is essentially the pseudonym of Merrill Garbus. When performing live Garbus creates drum loops and layers these with ukulele (her instrument of choice) and electric bass and sings on top of this. Her voice has an androgynous quality and I think draws comparisons with Anthony Hegarty for that reason. I’d love to see her live but I can’t find any upcoming tour dates anywhere. I’ll keep my eyes peeled as I’d say the tUnE-YarDs live experience is awesome. The video to the track Bizness is the business. Check it.

One thought on “tUnE-YarDs – Bizness

Leave a Reply

