Make-Up

And so to the make-up post. I am a bit of a cosmetics addict and so I have chosen just the products that are in my everyday make-up bag as otherwise this post would go on forever!

Foundation – After trying every foundation in the known universe I have settled on Chanel’s Pro-Lumiere. My biggest problem when buying foundation is that I have typically Irish skin, very fair with bluish undertones, and many cosmetics companies don’t make colours pale enough. In my experience the best are Estee Lauder and Chanel. This foundation gives medium coverage and a nice dewy finish which has good staying power.

Concealer – The rather tired looking tube to the front is a Bourjois highlighting concealer. I think it’s just as good as Touche Eclat and a whole lot cheaper! I’ve been using this for years and it covers my dark circles really well.

Lipstick – The two I am currently using are Chanel’s Rouge Coco in Lune Rousse which is a dark red berry-ish shade, and YSL’s Rouge Pur Couture in Blonde Ingenue which is a peachy shade and will come into its own this summer I think. Both Chanel and YSL are amazing for lipstick and I especially like the taste of the YSL ones, however I also have lippies by Mac and Nars which are great too.

Blushers – For my money Nars blushers are the best. They are heavily pigmented so they last for ages and the colour range is brilliant too. The two pictured here are Orgasm and Desire. I have had Orgasm for about a year (lucky me…ahem…) and there’s still tons of it left. A word of warning – Desire is so pink that you need to apply it with a light hand or else you can look like Bosco‘s long lost sister.

Eyebrows – The compact to the far right is Benefit’s Brow Zings in light. It contains a wax (on the left) and a shadow (on the right) and you combine the two to define your brows. It keeps them in place all day and I prefer the softer look it gives in comparison to a pencil. The whole Benefit range is currently available at much cheaper prices in Dublin Airport, so perhaps save your pennies till your next holiday and pick up your favourite Benefit products in duty free.

Eyeshadows – The two here are Sephora’s Black Flame and another peachy neutral by Sephora (at the front). The one complaint I have about Sephora’s packaging is that it falls apart very quickly. I have a stack of tiny pots from Muji that I keep on hand for such emergencies.

Mascara – I have been using Lancome’s Hypnose which I adore but unfortunately you don’t get much for your money and it tends to dry out very quickly. I bought Estee Lauder’s Projectionist a while ago to give it a whirl and so far it’s great. It gives good separation, dense colour and the wand is easy to manipulate.

So you can appreciate the extent of my cosmetics addiction here is some (yes only some) of the rest of my kit at home:

7 thoughts on “Make-Up

  1. Sinead

    Thanks for this babes, defo some diff products i’m going to try out & really want to know where you got your make-up tray? x

  2. Also a lover of Chanel’s Pro-Lumiere….its so light. I can’t stand the heavy caked look or feel that some foundations leave. I will definitely keep my eyes open for that container it will solve a lot of heart-ache when it comes to bathroom cleaning! 😉

  3. GREAT beauty tips. I live for other people’s recommendations (never believe the marketing hype!) … so this is hugely helpful Alex!

    Gonna order the Sephora oil pronto!

    xx

Leave a Reply

