Reading Material for November

"The Pile"

On Saturday I went into Hodges Figgis and did a long overdue book buy. I didn’t have much time as I was on my way to the cinema (more about that later in the week) so it was a lightening dash!

First of all, I bought Daphne du Maurier’s Don’t Look Now. I love du Maurier’s slightly gothic style and her most well known book, Rebecca, is one of my favourites. Don’t Look Now was made into a movie directed by Nicholas Roeg and starring Donald Sutherland and Julie Christie. I haven’t actually seen the film and I’m glad, as the plot of the book will be a complete surprise to me. This Penguin edition is part of their “Decades” series where they have asked famous designers to create covers for selected books most representative of each decade. Zandra Rhodes designed the cover for this and the other books featured for the 1970s.

I then picked up The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I have seen the movie quite recently and was blown away by it. My sister had read the book and said that the film was a faithful and accurate interpretation, however she said the book was much more scary. The Road is McCarthy’s most recent work, published in 2006, and it won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. In a rare interview with Oprah Winfrey, McCarthy revealed that the book was inspired by his eight year old son. I’m looking forward to reading it and learning from McCarthy, who is widely considered to be one of the greatest living writers in America.

I also re-bought John The Revelator. This is my third copy of the book as I keep giving it away to people who really should read it! It’s the brilliant debut novel by Peter Murphy which tells the story of John Devine, an introverted boy living with his single mother in rural Ireland. When Jamey Corboy arrives in town and becomes friends with John, it turns John’s life upside down. Peter is a brilliant writer and his style and facility with language is to be greatly admired. Check out this trailer where you can listen to Peter read the first page from the book.

Jesus’ Son by Denis Johnson was recommended to me by a friend and I’m almost finished it. It’s a book of short stories all of which are about a character called Fuck Head and his adventures while high on drugs and his struggles with addiction. It’s beautifully written – at times dreamlike and poetic. It’s deemed to be a classic book and I have loved it so far.

The book on the bottom is one of the Paris Review Interviews with Writers series. I nearly always have one of these by my bed for inspiration and guidance. They’re my bibles.

2 thoughts on “Reading Material for November

  1. Pingback: Don’t Look Now – Daphne du Maurier « Alex Donald's Multiverse

  2. Pingback: The Road – Cormac McCarthy « Alex Donald's Multiverse

Leave a Reply

