Bennie Reilly

I first came across the work of Irish artist Bennie Reilly about three years ago and I ended up buying her drawing “Skeletommy” (pic below) just before she moved to London in 2008. I loved her aesthetic at the time; slightly macabre, slightly unsettling paintings and drawings which featured children (a couple of examples here) and which vaguely reminded me of the work of Edward Gorey.

Skeletommy - Pencil Drawing
Bennie graduated from Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art & Design in 2004 and took an MA in illustration at Kingston University in 2008. She has exhibited in many galleries including Mother’s Tank Station, Temple Bar Gallery, Kevin Kavanagh Gallery and the Royal Hibernian Academy. In 2009 the artist had her second solo exhibition, Paradasaeidae in Monster Truck Gallery, Dublin and was an artist-in–residence at the Royal Hibernian Academy. Bennie was selected for the Clairemorris Open 2010 and will have a solo exhibition in Roscommon Arts Centre in early 2011.

I wanted to feature Bennie’s work on the blog and so she sent me some images of her new work. I love the fact that she has gone in a totally different direction since I last saw her work. It’s great to see an artist develop their talent and be unafraid to take risks. I’ll definitely be heading to see her solo show next year.

Dumbo - Oil on Canvas
Papuan II - Oil on Canvas
Semioptera Wallacii - Oil on Canvas
The Devastation as I Remember it - Oil on Canvas
Tit in the Mirror - Oil on Canvas
Leave a Reply

