My prayers have been answered*

You may remember that a number of months ago I was searching for a writers’ support group. Well I’m happy to report that my prayers have been answered. I was invited to join a writers’ group a few weeks ago and last Friday was our first meeting.

Already I can tell that this is going to be a great experience. To be able to bounce ideas off other people, to get genuine criticism, to get support and encouragement, will help me enormously in the coming months. There are four of us in the group, all coming from different backgrounds and at various different stages in our writing lives, and I think this mix of viewpoints and personalities will be very instructive. Unlike getting critiqued by friends or family (no matter how well meaning or well read!) the criticism that comes out of a professional group is purely about the work, and that will be hugely valuable.

I have been struggling with the subject matter for a book and had left it aside a while ago as I thought I wouldn’t be able to manage it. Friday’s meeting convinced me otherwise so I’m going to take a deep breath and try again. I have a feeling that if I get it right it could be great. So the next few months will be head down, shoulder to the grindstone, fingertips bleeding on the keyboard, hard hard work. And, to be totally honest, I can’t wait!

*said the atheist!

One thought on “My prayers have been answered*

Leave a Reply

