Style Inspirations – Chloë Sevigny

Some fashion icons are blogged about incessantly: Erin Wasson, Olivia Palermo, The Olsens, Kate Moss, Sienna Miller. I suppose Chloë Sevigny is one of the aforementioned regulars but she stands out for me above all others.

I have a long standing love for Chloë, as she was my very first style inspiration. I saw Kids in New York when it was first released in 1995. My Dad’s friend took us to a screening of it, telling us that this film was considered very controversial for its frank depiction of teenage life in New York. I remember being hypnotised by Chloë; she was such a good actress, so natural on screen. Ever since watching her debut in New York on that muggy summer night, I have been a Chloë devotee.

Since she first drew media attention, via Jay McInerney’s defining article in the 1994 issue of the New Yorker. Chloë has earned praise for her unique interpretation of fashion and for her quirky style. She is the champion of new designers, the self-styled ingenious left-field star on the red carpet. I love that she wears her hair naturally and seems devoid of make-up, only wearing her trademark red lipstick at most.

I have seen many of her movies and particularly enjoyed Trees Lounge, Palmetto, Boys Don’t Cry (for which she earned an Academy Award nomination in 1999 for Best Supporting Actress), Party Monster and Shattered Glass. I love that she takes chances which cause huge controversy (see: The Brown Bunny) and she can still go on to win a Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actress 2010 (see: Big Love).

Although this is an image heavy post, it’s only 1/10 of the images of her that I love. Chloë is one of the perennial style inspirations in my book.

Chloe around the time of Kids – Interview, 1995
72nd Academy Awards 2000
Gangs of New York Premiere
Premiere Magazine 2004
British Vogue 2004 styled by Bay Garnett
Brown Bunny Premiere
Blackberry Party 2007
Showing off her amazing legs in Numero Tokyo 2007
Prada America’s Cup Dinner 2007
MAC Viva Glam Launch 2009
Met Costume Institute Gala 2010 in Proenza Schouler
6 thoughts on “Style Inspirations – Chloë Sevigny

Leave a Reply

