Breakfast at Tiffany*

Breakfast at Tiffany’s has been a source of fashion inspiration ever since its release almost forty years ago.  I have always loved Givenchy’s costuming in this movie, and Audrey Hepburn was his ideal muse, looking eternally chic as Holly Golightly. Although Holly had some amazing costumes during the film (remember the gorgeous Grecian party dress with the mile long cigarette holder?) my favourite was her bedtime look:

You can imagine how happy I was when I saw the eyemask is now available at Patricia Field’s online store.  Thus inspired, I was on a roll and Googled until I found the earplugs Audrey is sporting too, available from JenGen.  All I need is a man’s tuxedo shirt and not only do I have a very chic sleeping outfit, but also a great Halloween costume!

(*You may notice that the title of the above post is not the same as the novel; that’s because Tiffany isn’t a person therefore it’s grammatically incorrect to put an apostrophe after it.  I can appreciate why Truman did it – after all it’s in keeping with Holly’s hillbilly origins to call it Tiffany’s – but Grammar Girl couldn’t resist it!)

2 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany*

Leave a Reply

