Like many people, I have found my clothes shopping budget decimated as a result of the recession. Perhaps that’s why there haven’t been as many fashion posts of late; window shopping with no money is frustrating for someone who loves clothes as much as I do. However I do have lots of items in my wardrobe that I haven’t worn and that don’t suit me, but they’re too expensive to donate to a charity shop and selling on ebay seems like serious hassle.

A few weeks ago I visited Kingdom of Style (one of my daily reads) and I read Michelle’s post about Depop which immediately piqued my interest. Depop is a new app which allows you to sell your clothes via your phone; you simply take a picture, add a description and upload it to the app. You can then publicise this using your Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts, and you can follow other people on the site. Best of all the app is free and so is uploading items.

I joined about two weeks ago and have been browsing regularly. There’s a huge range of clothes and accessories on the site; vintage, designer and high-street. You can spend anything from a fiver to a grand depending on what you’re after. There’s a search function too so if you’re looking for something specific like a Vivienne Westwood jacket or stiletto shoes in a size 8 it’s easy to find.

So far I have two items on the site (I’m listed as Alex Donald) but my photography skills suck so I need to improve those before adding anything else. (The main reason my photography is so bad is that my medication makes my hands shake so much that it takes me ten tries to get one average photograph!)

I reckon this is a great marketplace and an app that has real longevity.  If you need to make space in your wardrobe and don’t want lots of hassle, it appears to be an easy way to declutter and make some cash. All the better to spend on those shoes you’ve been eyeing up!

